APPT Macau 2007 High Roller Event: Destiny awaits Tahtouh as he aims for debut win

By Sean Callander

Action is just about to kick-off in today’s final table of the $15,000 APPT Macau High Roller event. Just 11 hours have elapsed since we wrapped up play at the Grand Waldo Hotel and Casino on day one, when 65 players paid the $15k entry fee.

APPT Macau 2007 High Roller Event: Day One
Final Table 15k APPT Macau High Roller Event

Our chip leader, Team PokerStars’ Emad Tahtouh is put an end to his bridesmaid’s tag once and for all today. With a 2.5:1 chip leader over the next stack (that of Hong Kong-based Australian David Paul Streicke), he’s in the ideal position.

“I was really happy with my game yesterday, I’m playing solidly and if it’s ever going to happen, it’s going to happen today,” he said.

Tahtouh was runner-up in the 2006 PokerStars EPT London main event, which earned him £285,900 (or just over $A720,000). And as recently as last month, he was second in the Bad Boys of Poker Invitational at the PokerNews Cup in his hometown of Melbourne.

 APPT Macau 2007 High Roller Event: Final Table
APPT Macau 2007 High Roller Event: Final Table

One of the toughest challenges will come from fellow Aussie young gun Eric Assadourian, who’s already promised to test Emad’s mettle early in the final table battle. “Mate, you and me, I’m going to test you out,” the Sydneysider said in some verbal sparring as the TV crews completed their promos.

Liz Lieu will be hoping to improve on her seventh place in the APPT Macau: Asian Poker Open, but with just 48,000 in chips, she’s faces an uphill battle with blinds starting at 1500/3000 and antes at 500 as the second shortest stack.

And sitting in the background is the three-time WSOP bracelet winner John Juanda, who’s already made an indelible mark on this event and will be keen to underline his status as one of the world’s best players. We’re about to get started, should be a cracker.

Seat 1: John Juanda, USA (74,000)

Seat 2: Scott Numoto, USA (47,000)

Seat 3: Emad Tahtouh, Australia (343,500)

Seat 4: Bo Sehlstedt, Sweden (127,000)

Seat 5: Liz Lieu, USA (48,500)

Seat 6:
Eric Assadourian, Australia (120,500)

Seat 7: Tony Ng, Hong Kong (57,500)

Seat 8: David Paul Streicke, Hong Kong (142,000)

Brad Willis
@BradWillis in