Team PokerStars Pros up for Poker Hall of Fame

ps_news_thn.jpgThere has never been a question that Team PokerStars Pro is made up of an elite group of poker professionals who have given their lives to the game. Now, the Poker Hall of Fame is considering three Team Pros for poker's greatest honor.

Barry Greenstein, Tom McEvoy, and Daniel Negreanu are among the top ten nominees chosen by the public for this year's Poker Hall of Fame inductions. Now a panel consisting of media members and current Hall of Fame inductees will choose the 2010 class from the list of Team PokerStars Pros, Chris Ferguson, Jennfer Harmon-Traniello, Dan Harrington, Phil Ivey, Linda Johnson, Scotty Nguyen, and Erik Seidel.

The Team Pros' records are undeniable. Barry Greenstein holds three WSOP bracelets, two major WPT titles, and more than $7 million in live tournament winnings. That is to say nothing of his untold success in live cash games, his charity work, and his support of up-and-coming players. He's also the author of Ace on the River.


Barry Greenstein

Tom McEvoy is famous for a lot of things, not the least of which is a fairly long list of books he's written to help poker players improve their game. He is well-known as the first person to ever win the WSOP Main Event after earning a seat via a satellite. Since that time, McEvoy has accumulated a total of four WSOP bracelets and more than $2 million in live tournament winnings. During the 2009 WSOP, McEvoy won the Tournament of Champions.


Tom McEvoy

And then there is Daniel Negreanu, a man who needs no introduction. One of the most outspoken members of the moden poker community, Negreanu owns four WSOP bracelets and can claim two major World Poker Tour titles. At just 36 years old, he has amassed more than $12 million in live tournament winnings.


Daniel Negreanu

Here are the Poker Hall of Fame criteria:

• A player must have have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The 2010 Poker Hall of Fame class will be inducted as part of the WSOP Main Event final table events in November.

Brad Willis
@BradWillis in PokerStars news