WCP VIII: The World Cup begins

PCA-2010-thumbnail.jpgThe World Cup of Poker returns for its eighth outing returning to what we'd like to think of as its spiritual home, the PCA. The two day event will pit nine teams, listed below, against each other in a fight to the death across a series of formats to settle for once and for all which nation deserves to be called world champions, for this year anyway. Italy, who return again under the stewardship of Luca Pagano, are the reigning cup holders. If last year is anything to go by they'll be hard to beat when it comes to passion if not poker. A total of $300,000 is going to be up for grabs with $90,000 split among the winning team.


Last year's winners Italy, Pagano captains again

Each team is made up of four players chosen through Tournament Leader Board rankings and online qualifier events topped off with a celebrity pro, chosen by PokerStars, to lead the team. They are as follows:

Costa Rica (led by Humberto Brenes, Team PokerStars Pro)
France (led by Arnaud Mattern, Team PokerStars Pro)
Germany (led by Jan Heitmann, Team PokerStars Pro)
Italy (led by Luca Pagano, Team PokerStars Pro)
Japan (led by Masa Kagawa (High stakes poker player)
Netherlands (led by Noah Boeken, Team PokerStars Pro)
Peru (led by Martin Sansour, LAPT3 Grand Final Champion)
Tajikistan (led by Angel Davidov, top Tajiki poker player)
Rest of World (led by David Williams, Team PokerStars Pro)

The format for today is nine player sit and gos followed by five player short-handed sit and gos before all 45 players get involved for a team event multi-table tournament. That tournament is going to be an interesting one where if you get shifted from your starting table to one with a team mate your chip stacks merge, potentially creating a mega-stack*, and the players take turns playing the stack, changing each time. More details about the teams and formats to come. The nine-handed SNGs have just begun. Results to come when we get them.

*I'm claiming the trademark on that one.

Rick Dacey
@PokerStars in World Cup of Poker