World Cup of Poker: Spain are the new Champions!

Spain is the tenth annual World Cup of Poker champion - upsetting Canada in a fiercely contested final.

On Saturday 140 players paid the 100K play chip entry fee to the no limit hold'em heads-up final. Of those players only 38 were Spanish, leaving them at a significant disadvantage with just over a quarter of the field representing the European nation.

As it got to the business end of the tournament, Canada had held onto their advantage with ten of the last 16. A poor round though saw six of their number fall compared to just two Spaniards - leaving it evenly poised at four players apiece.

Honours remained even through the quarter final and semi final, with an even number of players being eliminated from each side. With just two players to go it would all be settled by a single heads-up match between 'minnie2354' from Spain and 'scottycel' from Canada.

It was a short and feisty affair, with neither player showing a willingness to grind out a result. It came to the 20th hand of the match when 'scottycel', having just given up the chip lead, made a big pre-flop raise with king-queen. 'Minnie2354' smelled blood and moved all in with ace-ten, which was quickly called. The board ran out ten-high, handing the victory to Spain.

'Minnie2354' earned 64M chips for claiming the most prestigious title in team poker for her country, while 'scottycel' picked up 38M for his efforts in falling just short.

Meanwhile, in the third place playoff match Kazakhstan deservedly saw off Italy. They had it all wrapped up by the semi-final stage with all four participants hailing from the Central Asian country. In the end it was 'pavlino277' that secured the consolation victory and 23M chips.

Here is the competition bracket in full:

WCP_22dec14.jpgClick to enlarge image

To find out more about the World Cup of Poker please visit the dedicated homepage.

Bob Dix
@PokerStars in World Cup of Poker