Team PokerStars Online: Class of 2011

teampokerstarsonlinelogo.PNGFor most online poker professionals, the game is not about television exposure, sponsorships, or the whirlwind trips around the globe. It's a daily grind in front of computer monitors, hand cramped around a mouse, eyes falling exhausted and spent out of their skulls. It's a job, and the online pro's only reward is how much he has in his account at the end of the day.

For a select group of pros, however, there is one more summit, a place where they can get a patch for their arm and the distinction of being among the best in their trade. It's on that summit that you will find the members of PokerStars Team Online.

This morning, PokerStars announced its class of 2011. In 2010, two thousand people applied for a spot among the stable of online pros. This year, that number more than doubled to 4,500 applicants for one of the coveted spots on the team. Now, PokerStars has picked its 15 new members from eleven different countries.

Among the list of new signings are longtime online tourney grinders shaniac and PeachyMer. Mer "PeachyMer" Brit isn't too far removed from some deep runs in WCOOP and SCOOP. Shane "shaniac" Schleger, a longtime PokerStars winner, is coming hot off his PokerStars $109 rebuy victory on Sunday.


Shane 'shaniac' Schleger

Among some of the other new signings are prolific 2+2 forum posters foucault82 and cnew27, rally race car driver Jorge Limon, and a former Starcraft Pro Gamer who got into poker after taking some words of advice from Team PokerStars Pro ElkY.

As if that's not enough, Team Online has also signed up "innerpsy," the former record-holder for most hands played in one day (40,088), and "WizardOfAhhs", the current record-holder for most VIP Player Points earned in a single year.

Here are the freshmen of the Class of 2011.

Jorge Limon == Baalim
Shane Schleger == shaniac
Kwangsoo Lee == PiS.ToTo
Yu-Reng Peng == AmPHisbaenA
Clayton Newman == cnew27
Andrew Brokos == foucault82
Mer Brit == PeachyMer
Kevin Thurman == WizardOfAhhs
Freddy Torres == sirfreddy83
Richard Veenman == Tzen1
Sigge Reichard == ClarkKent89
Javier Dominguez == El Canonero
Mikhail Shalamov == innerpsy
Tyler Frost == frosty012
Dale Philip == Daleroxxu

For a full rundown of Team Online members, check out the PokerStars Team Online page.

Congratulations to the Class of 2011.

Brad Willis
@BradWillis in Team PokerStars Online