ANZPT Queenstown: Kiwis on top in latest chapter of trans-Tasman rivalry

New Zealanders love nothing more than to beat Australia - no matter what the sporting arena. The Kiwis are in prime position to chalk up another one over their trans-Tasman rivals after the final table for the ANZPT Queenstown Main Event was decided.

There are seven New Zealanders taking on two Australians for the first SKYCITY Alpine Adventure trophy, and the chips are firmly in possession of the local contingent.


The final table is underway in the ANZPT Queenstown Main Event

Local property developer John Guthrie took a massive chip lead into the final table with 888,500 - or 30 per cent of the chips in play. His good friend and former Queenstown mayor David Bradford also reached the final table, albeit with the shortest stack of 53,500.

The two Aussies in contention are also the only two remaining PokerStars qualifiers - 21-year-old Andrew Hinrichsen from the Melbourne suburb of Camberwell and 25-year-old NZ-born Will Mauga, who lives in Brisbane.

Danny Chevalier looms as the dark horse - he final-tabled at two events in the recent Melbourne Poker Championships and is a regular in high stakes cash games at Crown Casino in Melbourne where he lives after running his own business in NZ for many years.

John Pye, Steve Smith and Mark Walker are waving the flag for the North Island contingent while Glenn Maiden, the manager of the Wharf Casino in Queenstown, is also assured plenty of local support.

The final table was decided when a pair of Queenstown locals, Paul Chisnall and David Bonham bowed out in 10th and 11th positions respectively, assuring each a payout of NZD $4523. There's only a short break while players fulfil some media requirements and when the final table starts in a few minutes, the blinds will be wound back to level 16 (3000/6000 and an ante of 500). ANZPT Queenstown main Event final table

Seat 1: Will Mauga (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 106,500
Seat 2: Glenn Maiden (New Zealand) 321,500
Seat 3: Steve Smith (New Zealand) 186,000
Seat 4: Andrew Hinrichsen (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 69,000
Seat 5: John Pye (New Zealand) 211,000
Seat 6: David Bradford (New Zealand) 53,500
Seat 7: Danny Chevalier (Australia) 481,000
Seat 8: Mark Walker (New Zealand) 150,000
Seat 9: John Guthrie (New Zealand) 888,500