ANZPT Sydney: Will the empire strike back?

Like most other parts of the world, poker has become a younger man's (and woman's) game in Australia. Over the past three years, names like Team Australia players Grant Levy and Eric Assadourian, James Broom, Dory Zayneh, Stewart Scott, Haibo Chu, Daniel Botta and Luke Santo have topped the honours in Australia's biggest tournaments.


467 of the 493 players in the ANZPT Sydney Main Event are free to check out Sydney's sights today

But the old guard have been biding their time, and today could be the day they have their revenge. That's not to say that Billy "The Croc" Argyros is about to be shipped off to the retirement home, but in poker terms, he's not far off getting a telegram from the Queen.

Indeed, Argyros, one of the inaugural inductees into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame, has been around long enough that his nickname was coined by the legendary Johnny Moss.

Argyros won his first title on debut in Adelaide in 1989 and full of confidence, became one of the few local players to have, at that time, made the trip to Las Vegas for the WSOP. The Croc nickname emerged on that trip, when he announced to assembled crowd watching him and the legendary Johnny Moss go heads-up in a satellite (that Argyros would win), "I'm Crocodile Bill from Down Under".

Crocodiles might be prevalent in this part of the world, but this Croc is an endangered species in the final 26 of the ANZPT Sydney Main Event. Team Australia player Tony Hachem is yet to win a major title. He came within a whisker at last year's New Zealand Poker Champs Main Event where he was runner-up, and would love to rid himself of the bridesmaid's tag.


Could this be the day for Team Australia's Tony Hachem?

But for Argyros, Hachem and the 24 other challengers, they'll first need to negotiate a tense afternoon of poker before the final table is decided. We'll be playing right through today until the first ANZPT Sydney champion is decided. It promises to be an enthralling day, so join us from 12.30pm today (3.30am GMT) for the final day's play.

Seat allocation

Table 21

Seat 1: Billy Argyros (Australia) 853,000
Seat 2: Ben Barclay (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 777,000
Seat 3: Paren Arzoomanian (Australia) 585,000
Seat 4: Matthew Burgoine (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 333,000
Seat 5: Chris Kittos (Australia) 357,000
Seat 6: Joel Dodds (Australia) 190,000
Seat 7: Joey Lawrence (Australia) 192,000
Seat 8: David Zhao (Australia) 537,000
Seat 9: Danny Joukhader (Australia) 412,000

Table 22

Seat 1: John Caridad (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 269,000
Seat 2: David Hibbott (Australia) 481,000
Seat 3: Phi L Luu (Australia) 160,000
Seat 4: Joseph Nati (Australia) 75,000
Seat 5: Tony Hachem (Australia) Team PokerStars Australia 414,000
Seat 6: James Newhan (Australia) 397,000
Seat 7: Robert Acton (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 245,000
Seat 8: Marcial Dias (Australia) 113,000
Seat 9: Hugh Cohen (Australia) PokerStars Player 272,000

Table 23

Seat 1: Majed Haddad (Australia) 705,000
Seat 2: Chris Levick (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 124,000
Seat 4: Peter Ling (Australia) 623,000
Seat 5: Marc Liddell (Australia) 218,000
Seat 6: Andy Meldrum (Australia) 314,000
Seat 7: Lisa Walsh (Australia) 656,000
Seat 8: Michael Marvenak (Australia) 128,000
Seat 9: Matthew Pongrass (Australia) 263,000

The structure for today's play is:

Level 20: 8000/16,000 (ante 2000)
Level 21: 10,000/20,000 (ante 2000)
Level 22: 12,000/24,000 (ante 3000)
Level 23: 15,000/30,000 (ante 3000)
Level 24: 20,000/40,000 (ante 4000)
Level 25: 30,000/60,000 (ante 5000)
Level 26: 40,000/80,000 (ante 5000)
Level 27: 50,000/100,000 (ante 10,000)
Level 28: 60,000/120,000 (ante 10,000)
Level 29: 80,000/160,000 (ante 20,000)
Level 30: 100,000/200,000 (ante 30,000)