ANZPT Adelaide: Moose on the loose

A short but wonderfully entertaining day two has concluded at Adelaide Casino with 37 players through to "moving day" in the ANZPT Adelaide Main Event.

After starting with 122 players, action started slowly but by mid-afternoon, the rate of eliminations skyrocketed. By day's end, Raemin "Jake the Moose" Alexander from Melbourne Australia had emerged as a clear chip leader on 456,900. There's a fair gap back to Chris Evans on 278,600 and a pair of Adelaide Casino satellite winners Pankaj "Paul" Gogia (261,800) and Austria's superbly-named Octavian Voegele (258200).


Day 2 chip leader Raemin "Jake the Moose" Alexander

A number of notable players are also still on contention, including 2009 ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem (87,000), fellow Team Australia Pro Eric Assadourian (126,800), Australian Poker Hall of Fame member Billy "The Croc" Argyros (155,900) and PokerStars Macau regular Derek Cheung from Hong Kong (64,100).

And a set of twins are still in the hunt for a piece of Australian poker history - Todd and Ben Butcher hold 108,800 and 191,300 respectively while Bruno de Silva has 161,300. His twin brother Nuno de Silva hit the rail late in the day.

We'll be back at 12.30pm tomorrow for the race to the money (top 27) and to decide who'll be on the final table of the 2010 ANZPT Adelaide finale.