ANZPT Perth: Day 1B, level 1 (blinds 50-100)

1.20pm: Tahtouh on top

Not for the first time on the ANZPT, Team Australia's Emad Tahtouh is the early chip leader. New Zealand PokerStars Qualifier Linas Leonivas was lucky to escape with his tournament life when he found himself in a set over set confrontation with Tahtouh on a flop of Q-5-4. Tahtouh's queens held up against the fives of Leonivas to climb up to 32,000. No players have been eliminated in the first 45 minutes, with the main event tally currently at 221.


Top of the pops: Emad Tahtouh

12.50pm: 200-plus field assured

After a short welcome from ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem, play is underway on day 1B of the ANZPT Perth Main Event. We're up to 137 players, taking the total field to 210 - an impressive result for the first major event to be held on Australia's western seaboard.

Other notables we've sighted in today's field include top online players Steve Leonard, Chris Evans and Ben Delaney, Billy Argyros (one of only two players to have reached two ANZPT final tables), Julius Colman, 2010 Aussie Millions six-handed winner Kristian Lunardi. There are nine tables in use in the tournament area, and seven in the Poker Room.


12.30pm: Team Australia out in force

Almost twice as many players as yesterday will take the order to "shuffle up and deal" for day 1B in the ANZPT Perth Main Event. Welcome back to Burswood Casino on the banks of the Swan River in the heart of the Western Australian state capital for the second of the two day one flights.

Such is the size of the day 1B field that tables will be used in both the tournament area and the Burswood poker room (exercise never hurt a PokerStars blogger).

No disrespect to the day 1A field, but the big guns have come to play today. The line-up features Team Australia pros Emad Tahtouh, Grant Levy, Eric Assadourian and reigning ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem. Team Asia's Bryan Huang is also here today.

Other big names in action today include reigning Aussie Millions main Event champion Tyron Krost, 2008 New Zealand Poker Champs Main Event winner David Borg, 2009 APPT Auckland champ Simon Watt and 2009 ANZPT Player of the Year second and third placegetters Chris Levick and Joel Dodds. Play is scheduled to start in the next few minutes, with the blinds for today's play:

Level 1: 50/100
Level 2: 75/150
Level 3: 100/200
Level 4: 100/200 (ante 25)
Level 5: 150/300 (ante 25)
Level 6: 200/400 (ante 50)
Level 7: 300/600 (ante 75)