ANZPT Perth: Day 1B, level 4 (blinds 100-200, ante 25)

4.40pm: Player of the Year race is underway

ANZPT Adelaide in-the-money finishers including Tony Hachem, Todd Butcher, Eric Assadourian and Bruno Da Silva are still in the hunt to add to their points tally in the race for the 2010 ANZPT Player of the Year.


Reigning ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem has made a solid start to his title defence

For the second year in-a-row, is adding great value to the ANZPT with approximately AUD $90,000 in prizes being awarded to the three players who achieve the highest points at all events during ANZPT season two.

Not only will ANZPT players have the opportunity to share in the tournament prize pool - the overall point leaders have the opportunity to become sponsored players.

The overall points champion will win a sponsorship to four APPT events and either the Aussie Millions Main Event or the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) Main Event! Sponsorship includes Main Event entry, accommodation and return economy airfare from an Asia Pacific destination. This prize is valued at approximately AUD $55,000.

The overall points runner-up wins sponsorship (Main Event entry, accommodation and return economy airfare from Australia/New Zealand to five season three ANZPT events. This prize is valued at approximately AUD $25,000.

The overall points third place player will be entitled to receive a combination of Main Event entries and packages (including Main event entry, accommodation and return economy airfare) as determined by in respect of APPT, ANZPT and other Main Events sponsored by in the Asia-Pacific region held in 2011 up to a value not exceeding AUD$10,000.

4.20pm: The numbers that count

The field for the first ANZPT Perth main Event has been confirmed at 222 players. The total prizepool is AUD $510,600 (a record for Western Australia) with the winner assured a first prize of AUD $132, 750. A total of 24 players will receive a payout.
For those players who bow out early, they have the option of flying directly to Manila in the Philippines for a special APPT season four "preview" event.

The first PAGCOR Chairman Efraim C Genuino International Poker Tournament will run from March 20-25 at Manila's Pavilion Hotel and Casino, with the final table to be played at the SMX Convention Center at the Mall of Asia. With a buy-in of USD $2500 + $200 and a guaranteed prizepool of USD $1 million it's expected that there will be a significant overlay. This event will be covered by our PokerStars blog team.

4pm: Have pen, will travel

A consistent theme at ANZPT events is the appearance of a handful of international players - many of who are PokerStars Qualifiers taking the chance to combine some travel and poker in Australia or New Zealand.

Few have travelled further than Finland's Peteri Vauhapelto, but who could blame the Scandinavian for escaping the northern winter for a slice of southern sun. Along the way, he's also freelancing for a couple of magazines in his homeland.


Team Asia's Bryan Huang has joined the list of day 1B departures

The Finn already has a tale of sorts, having outlasted players including 2008 Melbourne Poker Champs winner James Broom, 2009 APPT Auckland victor Simon Watt and Team Asia's Bryan Huang.