ANZPT Perth: Seven Sandgropers, the pro and the Irishman

Could be the title for a Guy Ritchie flick! And in case you were wondering, Sandgroper is a term for people born and raised in Western Australia. With respect our blogging colleagues currently in Austria and the Philippines for their respective PokerStars events, we're confident that Perth had the pick of the mornings today.

It's a magnificent warm autumn day in the Western Australia capital, perfect for a stroll along the picturesque Swan River or a quick surf at one of the city's glistening white beaches (we'll overlook the small matter of the 8000 cyclists who've taken over the city's main north-south arterial road this morning).


Sunday morning, and Perth's unique Bell Tower (a gift as part of the 1988 Bicentennial celebrations) is working overtime

What a way to start the final day of the inaugural ANZPT Perth at Burswood Casino, where we suspect nine players might not be quite as relaxed as the rest of the populous. With a first prize of AUD $132,750 up for grabs and a prestigious ANZPT title, who could blame them!

One man has been here often enough to be able to enjoy his brekky without too many butterflies: Team Australia's Tony Hachem. Ideally poised in the middle of the pack heading into the final table, Hachem is eager to improve on his seventh in the opening event for 2010 while extending the lead in the ANZPT Player of the Year race - an award he captured last year.

anzptwafteric.jpg Team Australia Pro Eric Assadourian (left) congratulates teammate Tony Hachem (right) and Aleks Lackovic on reaching the ANZPT Perth final table

But even Hachem has to respect the chip lead of one of seven local players at the final table. Zaffer Soemya took over the running midway through day three and never looked like relinquishing his lead. However, his 1.016 million chips will be greedily eyed in the early going today.

The other Perth-based players - Aleks Lackovic, Jimmy Wong, Wade Beavis, Dale Marsland and Tu Le - will be assured plenty of support from the rail today. And how appropriate to have an Irishman, Eoin Kennedy, among he final nine in the week we celebrated St Patrick's Day.

It promises to be an enthralling day at Perth's premier entertainment destination, and you'll be able to follow all the action here from 12.30pm. ANZPT Perth Main Event final table

Seat 1: Jimmy Wong (Perth, Western Australia), 253,000
Seat 2: Aleks Lackovic (Perth, Western Australia), 684,000
Seat 3: Tony Hachem (Melbourne, Victoria), 458,000
Seat 4: Dale Marsland (Perth, Western Australia), 651,000
Seat 5: Zaffer Soemya (Perth, Western Australia), 1,016,000
Seat 6: Wade Beavis (Perth, Western Australia), 145,000
Seat 7: Eoin Kennedy (Tipperary, Ireland), 149,000
Seat 8: Vesko Zmukic (Perth, Western Australia), 583,000
Seat 9: Tu Le (Perth, Western Australia), 371,000