ANZPT Sydney: Manttan is the man on day 1B

The line-up for day two in the ANZPT Sydney Main Event has been decided after a massive day 1B field of 282 was culled to 138. Those survivors will join the 71 players who progressed from day one, leaving 209 players in contention for the first prize of AUD $219,432.

Earlier today, the ANZPT Sydney Main Event field was confirmed at 446, slightly down on 2009 but a result with which organisers were delighted given the increasingly crowded regional calendar.

The big names were out in force for day 1B, with the headliners four Team Australia Pros - Tony Hachem, Grant Levy, Lee Nelson and Emad Tahtouh - the 2009 and 2010 Aussie Millions winners Stewart Scott and Tyron Krost, along with 2009 WSOP Player of the Year Jeff Lisandro.


If there's one player due a change of fortune on the ANZPT, it's Team Australia's Emad Tahtouh

Top ranked Aussie online players Jonathan Karamalikis, Ben Delaney and Jarred Graham took their seats, as did defending ANZPT Sydney champion Paren Arzoomanian, 2009 ANZPT Queensland winner Scott Kerr and 2008 APPT Manila victor Van Marcus. They were joined by scores of the region's best players, which made chips hard to amass for the amateurs taking a shot at the title.

After eight one-hour levels, the chip leader was Michael Manttan on 116,800. Despite almost double the number of players on day 1B, the chip leader failed to surpass the stacks of day 1A frontrunners Shannon Chapman (123,500) and Ricky Kroesen (123,000).

Others to impress on day 1B were Patrick Woodley (116,200), Mile Krstanovski (112,800) and Western Australia's Michael Pedley, who found a slice of luck late in the day to close with 104,200.

ANZPT Perth winner, 2009 ANZPT Player of the Year and Team Australia Pro Tony Hachem is ideally positioned for a staggering seventh cash in eight Tour events after a late double-up propelled his stack to 95,000.

Other notables to advance from day 1B included Team Australia Pros Lee Nelson (92,700) and Emad Tahtouh (38,400), The Poker Star contestant Sally Snow (62,200) and Tyron Krost (56,200).

We'll be back at 12.30pm tomorrow for day two of what will almost certainly be the biggest event on season two of the ANZPT. Meanwhile, there are still two races to run at the Dapto greyhounds!