Lim lights up ANZPT Perth

When we started out this morning we knew it was going to be a day that would sort out the best from the rest, and without a doubt the cream rose to the top as Day 2 of the ANZPT Main Event was a day to remember. From the frantic early eliminations to the huge three-way triple up of overnight chip leader Ricky Kroesen, to the remarkable comeback of Tony Hachem and finally the rise and rise of young gun Aaron Lim.


We first noticed Lim early on day one when he started on the same table as Ricky Kroesen and the two tangled in the early levels of the tournament. At one stage Lim was all in for his tournament life against Kroesen - fast forward 24 hours and incredibly the pair share the top two spots on the chip count leader board.

Lim's talent was evident very early but he really showcased his full repertoire of moves today. First, it was the incredible bluff against Han Luu. As the hand was going down there were whispers amongst the rail that Lim must have a monster hand like aces, kings or perhaps ace-king...well not quite. Lim three-bet preflop, bet the flop, checked the turn and then committed most of his stack on the river with just six-high. It worked as Luu folded, and Lim cheekily flashed his cards.

Late in the day, that advertising may have paid off as he was involved in a monster pot with Jeff Cawthorne. Lim had fired the flop pretty light, picked up a flush draw on the turn and then rivered the nut flush. Cawthorne bet, Lim raised and Cawthorne moved all in. It was music to the ears of Lim who snap-called to ship the half million chip pot to claim a massive chip lead in the final minutes of the day.

It was a remarkable end to the day, but you get the feeling that its just the early chapters of a fascinating novel. Our field comprises of previous ANZPT Queenstown champ Danny Chevalier, ANZPT Gold Coast final tablists Liam O'Rourke and Ricky Kroesen, PokerStars Sunday Million final tablist Richard Lancaster, Aussie Millions third place finisher Jeff Rossiter, ANZPT Perth final tablist Vesko Zmukic, 2007 APPT Sydney champ Grant Levy, 2011 Aussie Millions champion David Gorr and of course Team PokerStars Pro, back-to-back ANZPT Player of the Year and the defending champion Tony Hachem. What a lineup!


Click on the following links for the End of Day 2 Chip Counts and Day 3 Seating Draw.

Our field has been reduced to just 32 players - eight of which are going to endure the pain of missing the cash tomorrow. Only the top 24 players will go home in the black with first place set to collect the trophy and $131,500.

All the action kicks off at 12:30pm local time (GMT+8) in the Burswood Poker Room as we play down to a final table of nine. Until then, good night from Perth!