ANZPT Perth: Curtis and the Canberrians

It took a little over six levels to reduce our final 40 players to a final table of nine, but the ANZPT Perth final table has now been formed. It's an exciting lineup with some super-talented young players and a host of locals, which should provide an entertaining finale for what has been a great event so far at the Burswood Casino.

We started out today knowing that the dreams would be crushed for four unlucky souls as they would experience the pain of the money bubble for the top 36 players. Three short stacks fell before David Joseph was rather unlucky to get involved in a massive pot with a flopped flush, only to discover that Jon Curtis had flopped a bigger flush. It left Joseph with the honour of bubble boy as the remaining players were pretty happy to be in the money.

From there, we were expecting some rapid eliminations, but the pace of play was pretty consistent throughout as the players started to drop away. David Lloyd shot into the chip lead, and had an opportunity to own a quarter of the chips in play as the final table approached when his pocket kings had Didier Guerin's ace-jack in a world of trouble. However a jack on the flop, and another on the river, gave Guerin a remarkable double up.

As the final table formed following the elimination of Daryl Alderson in 10th place, it meant that the three players who travelled together from Canberra had all made the final table. Could we see an astonishing trifecta for this terrific trio from the nation's capital?


John Shin and Anthony Aston share some time together during play on Day 3

It wouldn't be a huge shock as John Shin and Didier Guerin have plenty of game, and Anthony Aston has already shown us his talents with a third place finish at the recent ANZPT in Sydney. After this event, he's likely to also have the outright lead in the ANZ Player of the Year race.

However the man to catch is Jon Curtis. Arguably the most experienced player on the final table, Curtis started strong, maintained his stack during the middle stages, and then surged again late to be the only player above the one million chip mark.


Our final table chip leader is Jon Curtis

Final Table Lineup
Seat 1: Paul Satzke (Australia) - 438,000
Seat 2: Mat Carlsson (Australia) - 846,000
Seat 3: John Shin (Australia) - 660,000
Seat 4: David Lloyd (Australia) (PokerStars Qualifier) - 624,000
Seat 5: Anthony Marenko (Australia) - 476,000
Seat 6: Anthony Aston (Australia) - 320,000
Seat 7: Lucas Mierzwa (Australia) - 326,000
Seat 8: Didier Guerin (Australia) - 754,000
Seat 9: Jon Curtis (Australia) - 1,039,000

Click here for the complete ANZPT Perth prize pool and payouts

Play will recommence at 2:10pm local time (GMT+8). If you're in Perth then come on down to the Burswood Casino and join the rowdy rail, otherwise be sure to tune into the PokerStars Blog as we crown a new champion in the west!