APPT Sydney High Roller: Big names chasin' the big bucks

There have been many innovations on the APPT since its first event last year, none more popular than the addition of big buy-in ‘High Roller’ events to the schedule.

The first High Roller tournament was played in Macau last year. Eric Assadourian, who just placed 20th in the APPT Grand Final, won that event, conquering a field of 64 of the world’s best players to win the first prize of USD $368,640.

In season two of the APPT, High Roller events were played in Macau (won by Nam Le), Auckland (where Carter Gill won) and Manila. So it’s appropriate that the big names are back for the APPT Sydney High Roller.

The $15,000 buy-in event has attracted the finest field ever assembled at the one time for an event in Sydney. The line-up includes WSOP champions, Team PokerStars Pro Joe Hachem and Peter Eastgate plus WSOP bracelet winners John Juanda and Jeff Lisandro.

Team PokerStars Pros Chad Brown and Vanessa Rousso are in the field, along with local online standouts James Andy McLEOD Obst, Tony bond18 Dunst and Steve stevo Leonard.


Tony Dunst and Vanessa Rousso: ready to roll

There are internationals like Wooka Kim, Masa Kagawa (both Japan), Nathanael Seet, Josh Pang Ang (both Singapore), David Steicke (Hong Kong) and Andrew Pantling (Canada).

Again, the locals have turned out in force, including 2007 APPT Grand Final winner Grant Levy, David Saab, Julius Colman, Richard Holmes, Shane Dye, Warwick Mirzikinian, Bill Jordanou, Emanuel Seal and Andrew Scott.

Players start with 20,000 in chips, with levels of 60 minutes. With a field of approximately 35 players, it’s anticipated that we’ll be here until play reaches the money. So get comfy, it’s going to be a long, long night.

Structure for APPT Sydney High Roller

Level 1: 50/100
Level 2: 100/200
Level 3: 100/200 (ante 25)
Level 4: 150/300 (ante 25)
Level 5: 200/400 (ante 25)
Level 6: 250/500 (ante 50)
Level 7: 300/600 (ante 50)
Level 8: 400/800 (ante 100)
Level 9: 500/1000 (ante 100)
Level 10: 600/1200 (ante 200)