APPT Cebu: Fan blows away the field on day 1A

Less than half of the day 1A field will return for Friday's day 2 after the opening session of play in the 2009 APPT Cebu Main Event. They include nine PokerStars Qualifiers and four PokerStars Cebu Satellite winners.

Players from across the world converged on the idyllic Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa near the Philippines' city of Cebu to begin their pursuit of the third APPT title in season three of the region's biggest and most prestigious tour. At day's end, 50 of the 106 starters remained.

Two Team Asia PROs took their seats today - Daniel Schreiber and Raymond Wu. Schreiber was eliminated but Wu, fresh from a final-table finish in the PokerStars EPT London Main Event, will be back for day two.


APPT Cebu day 1A chip leader Terry Fan

The chip leader is PokerStars player Terry Fan from Taipei with 158,500. He's followed by a pair of Mongolian players - Bold Uundai (144,000) and Batsuren Tserendorj (93,600). PokerStars Qualifier Kevin Clark (New Zealand) holds 91,000 while Team Asia Pro Raymond Wu is on 90,400.


Raymond Wu is poised to make a big charge at the APPT Cebu title

Other notables to progress included PokerStars Qualifier Elton Tsang (48,100), defending APPT Philippines champion and PokerStars Sponsored player Van Marcus (43,700), 2008 APPT Macau High Roller runner-up Andrew Scott (29,200), 2009 APPT Auckland ninth-place finisher Michael Shinzaki, Swede Pontus Kers (fifth in the recent APPT Macau Main Event) on 20,100 and the man who finished runner-up in the same event, Mike Kim, on 18,500.

The Marquee at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa will be packed to capacity with a full-house assured for day 1B of the APPT Cebu Main Event. Be sure to join us tomorrow at 1pm local time (GMT + 8 hours) for all the excitement.

Watch APPT Cebu 09: Raymond Wu - Day 1A on

Raymond Wu chats with us about APPT Cebu and his hopes for the tournament