APPT Sydney: Champions, one and all

We suspect that he might not have had much sleep, but Aaron Benton will be back in the Sports Theatre at Star City Casino to complete his first duties as 2009 APPT Grand Final winner. Benton will join the field for the traditional finale of the season - the APPT Tournament of Champions.


The celebrations started after the final hand for Aaron Benton, and we're not sure of they've yet stopped

Since the foundation of the APPT, a charity freeroll has been played on the day after the APPT Grand Final; but it's a freeroll in name only. Some of the world's best players have butted heads in this tournament, and there's no quarter given when the likes of Team Pros Joe Hachem, Greg Raymer, Chad Brown, Vanessa Rousso and Scotty Nguyen take a seat at the same table.

Hachem won the first event - his first victory on home soil since winning the 2005 WSOP Main Event - and was thrilled to send a $50,000 to the charity of which he is a patron: the Shane Warne Foundation.

Last year, Vanessa Rousso was delighted to be able to deposit a cheque for $50,000 into the account of her own charity - the 'No Limit, No Profit Initiative', which raises money for Africa and cancer research.

The reputation of this event has again ensured a qualify field, who'll battle for $10,000 on behalf of the charity of their choice. The line-up includes Team Australia Pros Joe and Tony Hachem, Grant Levy and Eric Assadourian, The Poker Star winner Amanda De Cesare, Team Nordics Pro and 2008 WSOP Main Event winner Peter Eastgate, 2008 APPT Manila winner Van Marcus, 2009 APPT Auckland champion Simon Watt and the man nursing the biggest hangover in Sydney, Aaron Benton.

Throughout the day, we'll also look back at some of the highlights of the 2009 APPT - from the opening hand in Macau back in September to last night's gripping final table in the APPT Grand Final. Play starts at 1pm local time.