APPT Sydney: Day 2, level 8 updates

Live updates from day 2, level 8 (blinds 500-1000, ante 100) of the APPT Grand Final brought to you by Sean Callander and Landon Blackhall from Star City Casino in Sydney, Australia. Click refresh to see the latest updates below, while the latest selected chip counts can be found by clicking here.

1.45pm: Clark left in the dark

APPT Cebu fourth-place finisher Kevin Clark has just been eliminated by an opponent when he ran J-6 into an opponent's pocket jacks and never improved. Korean Steve Yea and Austrian PokerStars Qualifier Philipp Kober have also been KOed in the early stages of day two.

Darryl Lanyon has also been eliminated at the hands of fellow Aussie Yi Jin Mo after moving all in with Q♠ Q♥ before the flop but found himself in the lead against Mo's K♠ J♠. However Lanyon was sent to the rail when the board ran out 9♦ 2♣ 4♣ 7♦ 6♣ to give Mo the flush and to send him to the rail.


The last player to enter the APPT Grand Final, Mark Vos, is the new chip leader

One of the few Australians to have won a WSOP bracelet, South-African born Mark Vos, has been a big mover in the first hour after flopping trip fives and sending an opponent to the rail. Vos, who won the $2000 No Limit Hold'em title at the 2006 WSOP, is up to 150,000 in chips.

1.30pm: Toothpick burns, Dazzler shines

Antonis "Toothpick Tony" Kambouroglou moved his money into the middle holding A♠ K♦ and was in good shape against Australia's Nir Peer. However the flop of K♠ Q♠ 5♠ put Peer ahead but Kambouroglou could still take it down with a repeat spade, which didn't come as the turn and river ran out 9♦, 2♥ and Peer shipped a pot worth in excess of 200,000.

Kambouroglou was left with just 4000 which he moved into the middle with 2♠ 2♦ and was racing against Australian PokerStars Qualifier Marcos Vasilliadis A♥ Q♣ but managed to hit the wheel as the board was spread 4♥ 3♦ 5♦ A♠ 8♦ to double back up to less than 20,000. But those chips didn't last long, and the Sydney poker cult figure is out.


Our snapper Shannon Morris caught Darryl "The Dazzler" Lanyon is all his finery yesterday

Meanwhile Australian poker media pioneer Darryl "The Dazzler" Lanyon, who published the nation's first poker magazine Cards, managed to take out Australia's Nhon Ta when he found himself racing with A-Q against Ta's pocket nines but hit trip aces.

And the flaming red hair of Mark Vos is still shining through the Big Game Poker Room after fellow Aussie Frank Saffoti's A-8 was defeated by Vos' 5♦ 4♣ on a board that read 5♣ 5♠ K♥ A♠ Q♥.

1.15pm: It's ladies' night!

Last night, Star City hosted one of the biggest buy-in ladies' events in Australian poker history with the $550 buy-in APPT Ladies Event attracting 39 of the region's best female players.

The field included Team Asia Pro Celina Lin, The Poker Star contestants Sally Clarke and Donna Ciric (along with Sally's sister Lizzie), Hong Kong's Sarah Lee, Melbourne's Maryann Farrugia, Joe Hachem Deep Stack Series II High Roller champ Monica Nguyen and Australia's highest ranked female player for 2008, Helen Davis.


APPT Ladies Event winner Lorinda Bolus

Lorinda Bolus emerged victorious after a marathon night (the final hand was played at 6.30am) for a first prize of $7800, ahead of Sarah Lee ($4582), Lynn Gilmartin ($3315), Connie Diakovasilis ($2243) and Holly White ($1560).

1pm: Rowe's not so "oarsome" start

Defending champion Martin Rowe was first out today after committing his chips with A-J only to find fellow Aussie Daniel Neilson ready to battle with pocket nines. The flop landed J-10-9, and that was enough for Neilson to take down the pot. "I'd have pushed after the flop regardless," the likeable 2008 APPT Grand Final winner remarked as he headed for the exit.

12.30pm: Cards are in the air

Players have taken their seats for day 2 of the APPT Grand Final. Big names returning today include Team Australia Pros Eric Assadourian and Grant Levy, Team Asia Pro Raymond Wu and PokerStars Sponsored Player Lee "Final Table" Nelson.

Last year's APPT Grand Final winner Martin Rowe also returns, albeit short-stacked, along with fellow 2008 final-table participants Antonio Basile, Frank Saffioti and Haibo Chu. APPT Auckland champion Simon Watt, dual APPT High Roller winner Jarred Graham and 2008 APPT Manila winner Van Marcus are also back today. Chip-leader is Anton Blagov on 166,800. The chip average is 51,690.