2014 ACOP: Who's coming?

We're just a week away from the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker and it's time for a roll call!

Let's take a look at some of the big names who are coming.

Team PokerStars

There will be no shortage of players bearing the red spade at the 'PokerStars LIVE Macau' poker room as ten members of Team PokerStars are already confirmed.

Asia will be represented by Celina Lin, Raymond Wu, Vivian Im, Bryan Huang, and Naoya Kihara. Lin and Wu have had the most success in this poker series and have each won an ACOP Spadie title.

Meanwhile, the internationals flying into Macau include Bertrand 'ElkY' Grospellier, Jonathan Duhamel, Eugene Katchalov, Ike Haxton and Randy 'nananoko' Lew. Liv Boeree has recently shown interest but has yet to confirm.


Randy Lew

MBP Super High Roller
A few weeks back, PokerStars announced the partnership with Macau Billionaire Poker (MBP) for the HK$500,000 (USD $65,000) Super High Roller.

If you missed it, you can find it here.

As I'm writing this, the Early Bird Special shows 16 confirmed players but the word around the campfire is that we're 24 hours away from hitting the 20-player max for the promo.

Besides a slew Team PokerStars Pros, the list of fully paid players include Mike McDonald, Fabian Quoss, and Jeff Rossiter who is the all-time earnings leader at the ACOP. Dan Smith, Philipp Gruissem, and Niklas Heinecker - who won last year's GDAM event for USD $4.5m - have also shown interest in joining the SHR.

The hype machine often refers to the ACOP as the best-of-the-best competing in Asia. But it's not just hype. Plenty of champions from the east and west will be vying for the HK$100,000 Main Event's Gold Spadie trophy.

WSOP winners Greg Merson and Joe Hachem are confirmed for the Main Event and also candidates to join the high stakes tournaments.

Sunny Jung is confirmed to defend his 2013 ACOP Main Event title. He'll be joined by Season 8 winners Chane Kampanatsanyakor (APPT Seoul) and Thanh Ha Duong (APPT Manila); current Player of the Year leaders Pete Chen (Asia) and Edison Nguyen (ANZ); and, reigning APOY winner Jian Yang.

The 2014 ACOP begins next Friday, October 24.

Fred Leung
@PokerStars in Asia Pacific Poker Tour