NAPT Los Angeles Bounty Shootout: Packin' Heat

napt-thumb.jpgAfter spending the last four days in Bell Gardens at the Bicycle Casino, we're a few exits south off the 710 freeway at the Crystal Casino where a very different tournament will play out today in front of ESPN's cameras. We are packed into a tiny space ringed with black curtains where the NAPT is hosting it's third bounty shootout of 2010. Despite being a late addition to the NAPT Los Angeles schedule, the shootout's 81 spots are sold out and in just a few minutes' time, the first of two flights will begin Round 1 play.

So how does this work? The shootout has a $5,000 buy-in. $4,000 goes into the main prize pool and each player carries a $1,000 bounty on their head. Knock out a player, win $1,000. Five nine-handed tables comprise Flight A, which will begin at 11:00 am and the remaining four will start at 7:00 pm. Today, each first-round table will play down to a winner, who pockets $20,000. Then, the nine Round 1 winners will come back on Thursday to play out the final table where it's winner-take-all for the $134,280 balance of the prize pool. Additionally, PokerStars has added a seat to the PCA Bounty Shootout for the player who collects the most bounties in this tournament.


It really is far less confusing than it sounds and we will be here throughout the day to keep you updated. Here's a look at the Round 1 table draw:

FLIGHT A (11:00 am start time)

Table 1
Seat 1: Sam Stein
Seat 2: Scott Montgomery
Seat 3: Pat Walsh
Seat 4: Andy Frankenberger
Seat 5: Greg Mueller
Seat 6: Justin Young
Seat 7: Scott Clements
Seat 8: Eric Froehlich
Seat 9: William Reynolds

Table 2
Seat 1: Sorel Mizzi
Seat 2: McLean Karr
Seat 3: Clint Coffee
Seat 4: Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier
Seat 5: Marcello Del Grosso
Seat 6: Andy Seth
Seat 7: Olivier Busquet
Seat 8: Faraz Jaka
Seat 9: Justin Bonomo

Table 3
Seat 1: Jennifer Tilly
Seat 2: Scott Seiver
Seat 3: Greg DeBora
Seat 4: Ronnie Bardah
Seat 5: Dan Shak
Seat 6: Annette Obrestad
Seat 7: Andrew Robl
Seat 8: Tom Marchese
Seat 9: Vanessa Rousso

Table 4
Seat 1: Michael Mizrachi
Seat 2: Chance Kornuth
Seat 3: Shannon Shorr
Seat 4: Jason Senti
Seat 5: Aaron Gustavson
Seat 6: Tyson Marks
Seat 7: Jonathan Aguiar
Seat 8: Lauren Kling
Seat 9: Vanessa Selbst

Table 5
Seat 1: Jason Alexander
Seat 2: David Baker
Seat 3: Eric Baldwin
Seat 4: Tom Koral
Seat 5: Antonio Esfandiari
Seat 6: Matt Woodward
Seat 7: Aaron Jones
Seat 8: Ali Eslami
Seat 9: Chad Brown

FLIGHT B (7:00 pm start time)

Table 1
Seat 1: Joseph Cheong
Seat 2: Matt Keikoan
Seat 3: Michael Binger Matt Affleck*
Seat 4: Jared Jaffee
Seat 5: Adam Junglen
Seat 6: Nacho Barbero
Seat 7: David Williams
Seat 8: Isaac Haxton
Seat 9: Frank Kassela

Table 2
Seat 1: Bob Lauria
Seat 2: Daniel Negreanu
Seat 3: Barry Greenstein
Seat 4: Phil Laak
Seat 5: Alex Keating
Seat 6: Brett Richey
Seat 7: Pat Pezzin
Seat 8: Darus Suharto
Seat 9: Tim Begley

Table 3
Seat 1: Aurel Bogdan
Seat 2: Todd Terry
Seat 3: Dan Suied
Seat 4: Victor Ramdin
Seat 5: Hasan Habib
Seat 6: Michael Pesek
Seat 7: Dan Woodward
Seat 8: Chad Batista
Seat 9: Moshin Charania

Table 4
Seat 1: Jonathan Little
Seat 2: Nick Binger
Seat 3: Ben Lamb
Seat 4: Shaun Deeb
Seat 5: Jean-Robert Bellande
Seat 6: Chris Moneymaker
Seat 7: Phil Hellmuth
Seat 8: Liv Boeree
Seat 9: Kevin MacPhee

*= Michael Binger relinquished his seat in the bounty shootout as he is still busy trying to make the final table of the NAPT Los Angeles Main Event. Affleck's name came off the waiting list and he'll take Binger's seat.

Play was scheduled to be underway at 11:00 am, but as these things go when cameras are involved, we're running a bit behind. Action should commence shortly.

Kristin Bihr
@PokerStars in North American Poker Tour