David Steicke wins Event 1 at the Macau Poker Cup Championship 2012

MacauPokerCup_thn_promo.jpgDavid Steicke beat out the 161-player field in the opening HKD $8,800 NLH event at the Macau Poker Cup Championship 2012 (MPCC). The Hong Kong resident was awarded HKD $306,100 for his victory after two days of play.

Sunday saw 44 players return to the PokerStars Macau tournament room at the Grand Waldo Entertainment Complex for the Day 2 final where the top 19 runners would cash for a piece of the HKD $1,249,360 prize pool.

Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin, 2011 Asia Player of the Year Shaq Lin, and Day 1 chip leader Ray Chiu were amongst the day's starters who hit the rail early.

After the money bubble burst, reigning MPCC champion Raiden Kan and Jennette "Jay" Tan busted soon afterwards finishing in 14th and 19th place respectively.

Roman Babela from the Czech Republic started the day with the fourth largest chip stack and quickly took over the lead. He held 25% of the chips in play by the time the final table begun.

Babela had a couple of Asia's young guns standing in his way but 2010 Macau Millions champion Justin Chan (8th) and Jacky Wang (5th) both came up short.

No. 14 APOY ranked Tony Chang placed 3rd to improve to No. 6. Chang's elimination created a heads up battle between Babela and Steicke.

The match looked like it was over after both players moved their chips in with Babela's AQ dominating Steicke who held AJ.

However, the 49-year old found a jack to win the hand which severely crippled Babela.
Shortly after, Babela decided to push with 9d4d and was called by A9.

The board ran 9h-Ks-8d-2h-2s giving both players a pair of nines but the Ace kicker sent the Event 1 trophy to Steicke -- adding to his already-impressive poker resume that includes more than HKD $20,000,000 in winnings.

Normally a man of many words, the player commonly associated with high roller events simply said, "I got kinda lucky."

Event 1 $8800 NLH winner - David Steicke, Hong Kong - CROP.jpg

Event 1: $8,800 NLH - Final Table Results
1. David Steicke (Hong Kong) -- $306,100
2. Roman Babeka (Czech Republic) -- $206,100
3. Tony Chang (Hong Kong) -- $131,200
4. Andrew Lam (Hong Kong) -- $106,200
5. Jacky Wang (Singapore) -- $84,300
6. Yue Hin Lam (Hong Kong) -- $68,700
7. Thomas Ward (New Zealand) -- $56,200
8. Justin Chan (Hong Kong) -- $43,700
9. Haotian Feng (Australia) -- $37,500
10. Joao da Silva (Macau) -- $31,460

Fred Leung
@PokerStars in PokerStars Macau