2014 ACOP: India goes two for two in opening weekend

The 'PokerStars LIVE Macau' poker room kicked off the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) this past weekend.

The first three days of the 17-day poker festival had four cash tournaments on hand which totalled 479 entrants and more than HK$2.6 million in prize money. For Side Event results please go to: //psta.rs/2014ACOP-SEresults

It was a sweep for India as the country won both ACOP 'Spadie' trophies over the weekend. Anju Abrol was the winner in Event 2 and took home HK$401,400 for her work in the two-day Deepstack Championship.

The weekend's feature event easily surpassed its HK$1 million prize pool guarantee.

The HK$11,000 freezeout drew 169 runners, creating HK$1,639,300 in prize money.
Overnight chip leader Raiden Kan remained among the biggest stacks for a large part of the day but ultimately fell in fourth place.

Abrol had slightly fewer chips entering heads-up play against Aussie Rory Young, and that deficit continued to grow. However, the 50-year old banker would make a remarkable comeback after winning several unlikely all-in situations.

The final hand saw Young commit his last few chips ahead with K♣T♣ against his opponent's 5♥6♦. But this was Abrol's night as the board would run A♦4♠3♦9♠2♦ giving her the nut straight and the title.

Event 2 - Deepstack Championship winner Anju Abrol (India).jpgDeepstack winner Anju Abrol

"I won every all-in. It was unfair for him!" said a humble Abrol. "I had nothing to lose. I went in (to heads up play) thinking I would come second."

Abrol becomes just the second female player to win an open ACOP Title Event.

Event 2 Final Table Results

1. Anju Abrol (India) HK$401,400
2. Rory Young (Australia) HK$270,500
3. Adrien Choux (Hong Kong) HK$172,100
4. Raiden Kan (Malaysia) HK$139,300
5. Chong Hwee Tan (Singapore) HK$110,700
6. Chun Tat Lee (Hong Kong) HK$90,200
7. Wai Leong Chan (Malaysia) HK$73,800
8. Kelvin Kwun Yip Cheng (Hong Kong) HK$57,400
9. Shinichiro Teraoka (Japan) HK$49,200

Event 1 was won by Kunal Patni who defeated a 134-player field in the re-buy Championship for his first poker title on record.

The HK$2,500 buy-in event had 189 re-buys swelling the prize pool to HK$704,948. Some 16 players cashed with the Senior Vice President of a wealth management company collecting HK$176,200 for his victory.

Event 1 - Rebuy Championship winner Kunal.jpgKunal Patni won his first title

Patni won the key coin-flip in the final hand against Hong Kong's Ken Hung. After a series a raises and re-raises, Hung made the call for his tournament life with pocket jacks J♠J♣ up against A♦Q♦. The board ran 9♠6♣Q♠3♦8♠ and paired Patni's queen to clinch the weekend's opener.

Event 1 Final Table Results

1. Kunal Patni (India) HK$176,200
2. Ken Hung (Hong Kong) HK$119,900
3. Florencio Campomanes (Philippines) HK$77,647
4. Fu Man Tin (Hong Kong) HK$63,400
5. Corey Kempson (Australia) HK$49,300
6. Xiao Yang (China) HK$42,300
7. Shu Xu (China) HK$35,200
8. Li Su (China) HK$28,200
9. Ben Wilson (UK) HK$21,100

Florencio Campomanes finished in third place in the re-buy Championship to jump up nine spots to number eight on the Asia Player of the Year rankings. 2014 Macau Millions winner Hao Chen now slips out of the top ten.

For the 2014 Asia Player of the Year rankings please go to: //psta.rs/2014apoy

For the complete 2014 ACOP schedule please visit www.appt.com

Fred Leung
@PokerStars in PokerStars Macau