APPT Macau: Cheong on song heading into day three

August 28, 2009

By Landon Blackhall

The final 42 players have been decided for day three of the 2009 APPT Macau Main Event after a gripping day at PokerStars Macau in the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino. After eight one-hour levels, the field was slashed by more than 75 per cent from 196 to leave the remaining players firmly entrenched in the money and in the hunt for the title and first prize of HKD $4,194,000.

No dominant chip leader emerged on day two, with several players swapping the top spot back and forth until Australia’s Kyle Cheong cemented pole position for tomorrow’s penultimate day of play with a stack of 577,500 after a massive pot in the very last hand on his table, resulting in the elimination of Canadian PokerStars Qualifier Aaron Lerner.


Day two chip leader Kyle Cheong

In second place is PokerStars Qualifier Sunny Bhayana from Canada with 507,000 followed by PokerStars Sponsored Player Tom Hall from the UK (424,000), Aussie Tom Rafferty (395,500), 2008 WPT Championship winner David Chiu (391,000) and Filipino Wally Sombero (361,000).

There will be five PokerStars Sponsored players, nine PokerStars Qualifiers and six PokerStars Macau Satellite Winners playing tomorrow. APPT Tournament Director Danny McDonagh will ensure these six players will be drawn onto different tables, thereby spreading the chips around and evening out the playing field tomorrow.


PokerStars Sponsored Player Van Marcus remains on track for a third APPT final table

There are only a handful of major names that will return to the felt for day three, including 2008 APPT Manila Main Event champion Van Marcus and 2008 APPT Macau High Roller runner-up Andrew Scott.

Six players have received HKD $48,400 for their efforts (to see the payouts, click here), however it was Swedish PokerStars Qualifier David Paananen who was bestowed the unwanted title of the “bubble boy” at the hands of Sunny Bhayana.

Daniel Schreiber is the only Team PokerStars Pro still standing in the tournament. Grant Levy, Eric Assadourian, Tony Hachem, Joe Hachem, Celina Lin, Bertrand ElkY Grospellier, Jonathan Lin and Raymond Wu were all sent to the rail on day two.


Holding court: Dan Schreiber is the last remaining Team Asia player in the field

Other notables eliminated today included James “Welcome Back” Potter and fellow Aussie Dennis Huntly, 2009 Aussie Millions $100,000 Hold’em Challenge winner David Steicke and Main Event champion Stewart Scott and David Saab.

After another drama-filled day at PokerStars Macau in the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino, we’re off to analyse all the action over a cleansing Tsingtao or two. Join us tomorrow for day three from 12.15pm local time (GMT +8hrs).

Day three seat draw

Table 1

Seat 1: Mike Kim (Korea) Pokerstars Sponsored Player 248000
Seat 2: Kyle Cheong (Australia) 577,500
Seat 3: Hung Chang Lin (Taipei) Pokerstars Sponsored Player 46,500
Seat 4: Darkhan Botabavzv (Kazakhstan) 236,000
Seat 5: Van Binh Pham (Canada) 35,000
Seat 7: Tran Linh (Canada) Pokerstars Macau Satellite Winner 94,000
Seat 8: Dbinder Singh (Canada) PokerStars Qualifier 236,500

Table 6

Seat 1: Jicheng Su (China) Pokerstars Macau Satellite Winner 188,500
Seat 2: Tom Hall (UK) Pokerstars Sponsored Player 424,000
Seat 3: Michael Collins (USA) PokerStars Qualifier 201,500
Seat 4: Benjamin Haun (USA) 233,500
Seat 6: Karl Mahrenholz (UK) PokerStars Player 161,500
Seat 7: Kristoffer Myhre (Norway) 128,500
Seat 8: Daoxing Chen (China) 248,000

Table 7

Seat 1: Dermot Blain (UK) Pokerstars Macau Satellite Winner 142,000
Seat 2: Pontus Kers (Sweden) PokerStars Qualifier 228,500
Seat 3: Dane Lomas (USA) 111,000
Seat 4: Tony Makasovski (Australia) PokerStars Macau Satellite Winner 278,500
Seat 5: Chung Yiu Charles Lam (Hong Kong) 124,500
Seat 6: Bernard Vu (France) 172,500
Seat 7: Tom Rafferty (Australia) 395,500

Table 8

Seat 1: Daniel Hansson (Sweden) PokerStars Qualifier 324,000
Seat 2: Remy Bakke (Norway) Pokerstars Macau Satellite Winner 87,500
Seat 3: Wally Sombero (Philippines) 361,000
Seat 5: Youngshin Im (Korea) Pokerstars Macau Satellite Winner 163,500
Seat 6: Daniel Schreiber (USA) PokerStars Team Asia Pro 114,500
Seat 7: Roger Spets (Sweden) 51,500
Seat 8: Stefan Hjorthall (Sweden) PokerStars Qualifier 75,000

Table 15

Seat 1: Shawn Buchanan (Canada) PokerStars Player 162,500
Seat 2: David Chiu (USA) 391,000
Seat 3: Wing Leung (Andrew) Chung (Hong Kong) 309,000
Seat 4: Ang Pang Leng (Singapore) 301,000
Seat 5: Winfred Yu (China) 76,000
Seat 6: Andrew Scott (Australia) 91,500
Seat 7: Theo Tran (USA) PokerStars Qualifier 43,500

Table 16

Seat 1: Carlos Chang (Taipei) PokerStars Qualifier 123,500
Seat 3: Sunny Bhayana (Canada) PokerStars Qualifier 507,000
Seat 4: Hsuan Lee (Taipei) Pokerstars Sponsored Player 128,000
Seat 5: Stanley Hou (Australia) PokerStars Qualifier 102,000
Seat 6: Brandon Demes (USA) PokerStars Player 214,500
Seat 7: Richard En (Philippines) 116,500
Seat 8: Van Marcus (Australia) PokerStars Sponsored Player 54,500


Next Story