APPT Macau: Local favourite leads field into final table

August 29, 2009

A massive day of action at PokerStars Macau in the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino has ended with the final table decided for the 2009 APPT Main Event. Despite a star-studded field that included four WSOP Main Event champions and numerous Team PokerStars Pros, it will be a mostly unheralded line-up at tomorrow’s final table.


Thank-you fans: Daoxing Chen salutes his rail after a memorable day at PokerStars Macau

Day three started with 42 players, and after the loss of 10 players in the first hour – including Team Asia Pro Daniel Schreiber – progress slowed from that points and blinds had risen to a staggering 20,000/40,000 with an ante of 4000 (less than 20 big blinds per player) before the final nine were decided.

Leading the field into the final table will be PokerStars Macau’s own Daoxing “Bao Bao” Chen on 1,747,000. Chen was a galvanising character in the evening session, with his willingness to let the clock run down on every decision infuriating for his rivals, but he enjoyed huge from the rail.

He leads well-known Asian poker identity and PokerStars Sponsored Player Mike Kim (1,653,000) and Kazakhstan’s Darkhan Botabayev (1,455,000), with a big gap back to another Chinese player, Beijing’s Jicheng Su (778,000).


Mike Kim and Dermot Blain bag up their chips after a productive day in the APPT Macau Main Event

The final table line-up is completed by Canadian PokerStars Qualifier Dbinder Singh (696,000), US youngster and PokerStars Player Brandon Demes (578,000), Irishman Dermot Blain (507,000) and two Swedish PokerStars Qualifiers – Stefan Hjorthall (454,000) and Pontus Kers (491,000).

The final table was decided when American Dane Lomas pushed all-in over pre-flop raises from Botabayev and Chen, with the Chinese player making the call. It was Chen’s A♥ K♠ against the 7♠ 7♦ of Lomas. Chen’s hand improved to a full-house as the board showed Q♠ 2♣ K♣ 2♠ 2♦ to decide the final table line-up.

Players will return to the feature table on the main Grand Lisboa Casino gaming floor tomorrow at 12.15pm tomorrow (GMT + 8hrs) to decide who will join Dinh Le and Eddy Sabat on the honour roll of APPT Macau Main Event winners.

• It was also day one of the APPT High Roller event, with 64 players creating a prize pool of HKD $5,440,000 and a first prize of HKD $2,067,200.


PokerStars Sponsored Player Lee Nelson will be back for day 2 of the APPT Macau High Roller

A total of 25 players progressed to day two, with the chip leader is Vladimir Geshkenbein from Switzerland on 478,000, followed by Aussie Jonathan Karamalikis on 448,500. Pokerstars Macau High Roller satellite winner Man Ho Daniel Chan from Hong Kong has 318,000. Team Australia’s Grant Levy holds 236,000 and PokerStars Sponsored Player Lee Nelson is on 163,000. Team PokerStars Pros Joe Hachem and Bertrand ElkY Grospellier were eliminated on day one.


Next Story