P1M Guarantee Main Event: Pangan Leads Day 1a; Winners Up in the Ranks

July 03, 2015

Luke PanganDay 1a of the P1M Guarantee Main Event saw a total of 128 entries and at the end of tournament play only 21 were left in the field. Amongst those were the winners of the past two events of this series, Christopher Mateo and Michael Kim Enriquez, both of whom kept their momentum from their recent victories by ending the day high up in the chip ladder. The player who bested them all however was Luke Pangan who ended the day with 205,500 chips.

Pangan had a great run all day. He assumed the chip leader seat by scalping several players very early that prior to the end of late registration, he was the only player near the six-digit chip mark. Pangan maintained his stack for the rest of the day even after he lost a big pot against Enriquez, then gained back more when he landed a flush against Mateo with his K♦Q♦ on a board that ran Q♥2♦6♥10♦9♦.

Running second-in-chips is another local player, Adrian Brion, with 181,000 chips. Brion was fairly quiet all day, accumulating chips in an almost stealth-like manner.

And in third position is Mateo with 176,500. Mateo won yesterday’s P300K event and is looking to bag another for a back-to-back.

It is well to mention that Michael Kim Enriquez is currently fourth in chips. Enriquez won the P200K event two days ago. Like Mateo, he is looking to bag a double up victory.

Among those who qualified were local players Trifie Montebon, and Anthony Gabitan, as well as Jae Chul Chang (Korea), and Fevzi Erem Topac (Turkey) to mention a few.

Among the fallen were previous P1M Guarantee winner Rey Concepcion, local pro Mike Takayama, Jesse Leonarez, Dave Colclough (Wales), and John King (USA).

Congratulations to all the qualifiers!

List of Day 1a Qualifiers:
Luke Pangan – Philippines – 205500
Adrian Brion – Philippines – 181000
Christopher Mateo – Philippines – 176500
Michael Kim Enriquez – Philippines – 152500
Trifie Montebon – Philippines – 138500
Jae Chul Chang – Korea – 135500
Jongwoo Yoon – South Korea – 106500
Renato Villanueva – Philippines – 100000
Frank Geissler – Germany – 82500
Derek Leano – Philippines – 82000
Fevzi Erem Topac – Turkey – 75000
Jack Lieu – Singapore – 68500
Erwin Rommel Pineda – Philippines – 68000
Anthony Y. Gabitan – Philippines – 64000
Nasse Bandong – Philippines – 55000
Ace Villaverde – Philippines – 52000
Reynaldo Aguilar – Philippines – 48500
Edmil Marcelo – Philippines – 44500
Edward Tan – Philippines – 34500
Christopher George Waite – Canada – 32500
Romeo Catayas – Philippines – 17000

We will return at 215pm tomorrow for Day 1b of the P1M Guarantee Main Event.


Next Story