Wednesday, 1st February 2023 05:24
Home / News / High Rollers out in force as EPT Barcelona €10K returns for Day 2

Hundreds of high rollers have strolled into Casino Barcelona and taken their seats for Day 2 of the €10,300 Single Re-Entry this afternoon. The tournament might not have broken records like both the Estrellas and EPT Main Event before it, but this €10K turnout proved it’s easily one of the most beloved high roller events on an increasingly-crowded circuit.

With registration now closed, the total number of entries (including re-entries) stands at 529 and the prize pool at $5,141,000, making this the fourth-largest version of the tournament in its history. Prizes are yet to be announced.

Of the 500 entries received on Day 1, just 221 found a bag when play concluded after 11 one-hour levels. But before play began and registration closed at the start of Day 2, a further 29 players jumped in to grab a 50,000 starting stack, enough for 25 big blinds at the start of Level 12 today (1,000/2,000/2,000).

Among those who got in at the last minute include hall-of-famer Erik Seidel, David Peters, Prague high roller champion Henrik Hecklen, Seth Davies, Nick Petrangelo, Benjamin Pollak, Bruno Volkmann and Jack Hardcastle.


Israel’s Jacob Amsellem sits atop the chip counts right now with a whopping 684,000. He’ll be hoping to continue his run of good form at PokerStars events, having finished fifth in the FPS Main Event in Monaco in May for a career-best €71,310 score.

PSPC champ Ramon Colillas had a good Day 1

Both Andre Akkari and Ramon Colillas have returned today to rep the PokerStars red spade, while other notables who found a bag last night include online tournament crusher Niklas “Lena900” Astedt, Sunday Million Anniversary winner Vanessa Kade, Super High Roller regular Ben Heath, and former WSOP Main Event champion Damian Salas.

Here’s a look at the top 10 stacks as play resumes:

1. Jacob Amsellem (Israel) – 684,000
2. Ehsan Amiri (New Zealand) – 412,500
3. Andre Machado (Brazil) – 397,500
4. Nacho Barbero (Argentina) – 328,500
5. Orpen Kisacikoglu (Turkey) – 305,000
6. Yuliyan Kolev (Bulgaria) – 303,500
7. Marcus Pisani (Spain) – 296,000
8. Damian Salas (Argentina) – 292,000
9. Dario Sammartino (Italy) – 289,000
10. Brian Kamphorst (Netherlands) – 279,500

Nacho Barbero bagged big

Connor Drinan took down the largest-ever edition of this event back in 2016, the same night that an entertaining and emotional Sebastian Malec became an EPT champion. That €10K got 591 total entries and when it was all said and done in the early morning hours, a well-lubricated Drinan went home with €849,200.

“I drank a lot of beer, and that helped,” Drinan said. “I ran good and won my all-ins.”

Connor Drinan, champ in 2016

Mustapha Kanit was crowned the champion the year before, following a three-way deal with Kully Sidhu and Nick Petrangelo. With 506 entries, the 2015 edition was the biggest edition up until that point, yet 2014’s winner, Ihar Soika, actually won more despite fewer entries.


2019 – 540 entries – Chris Hunichen – €841,315
2018 – 439 entries – Max Silver – €600,924
2017 – 557 entries – Ronny Kaiser – €735,000
2016 – 591 entries – Connor Drinan – €849,200
2015 – 506 entries – Mustapha Kanit – €738,759
2014 – 393 entries – Ihar Soika – €747,200
2013 – 180 entries – Thomas Muehloecker – €390,700
2012 – 111 entries – Laurent Polito – €270,229

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Study Poker with Pokerstars Learn, practice with the PokerStars app