Monday, 5th December 2022 05:05
Home / Uncategorized / Jack En-ching Wu crowned 2016 Asia Player of the Year

Taiwan’s Jack En-ching Wu has been crowned 2016 Asia Player of the Year!

After a tight race with China’s Wayne Wei Yi Zhang, Wu has emerged triumphant with the conclusion of the Far East’s richest poker festival – the Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP). The results of the ACOP series usually determine the APOY winner but Wu and Zhang were so far ahead of the pack that something drastic would have had to happen for another player so snatch the crown.

Wu was just awarded the trophy here by PokerStars LIVE Macau’s Fred Leung. With a shake of the hand and a round of applause Wu was ushered in as the successor to last year’s APOY Alan King Lun Lau.

2016 apoy winner Jack Wu.jpg

Wu amassed an amazing 9,492 points throughout the season. During an absolutely stellar year on the felt he not only made 23 final tables but took home six titles as well. The biggest of which came in September when Wu shipped the Macau Poker Cup 25 HK$20,000 Event for a $118,622 payday.

That final tally of 9,492 sees Wu easily surpass Shaq Lin’s previous record of 6,278 – one that stood for five years. For his impressive showing Wu receives a one-year sponsorship with PokerStars LIVE Macau and his name etched permanently into the prestigious APOY trophy.

2016 apoy trophy.JPG

Congratulations to Jack En-ching Wu!

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Study Poker with Pokerstars Learn, practice with the PokerStars app

Try our Free Scholars Leader Board to practice your new skills.