Barry Greenstein

Barry Greenstein

Das bisschen Zeit, das ihm nach seinem Informatikstudium an der University of Illinois während der Vorbereitungen auf seinen Doktortitel in Mathematik blieb, verbrachte Barry Greenstein mit Pokern. Und obwohl ihn eine lukrative Karriere in der Software-Industrie erwartete, suchte und fand er Glück und finanziellen Erfolg in einer ganz anderen "Branche".


Um das Jahr 1991 verdiente Barry so viel Geld an den Pokertischen, dass er seinen erlernten Beruf an den Nagel hängte und Pokerprofi wurde - eine Entscheidung, die aus heutiger Sicht für ihn goldrichtig war. Nur wenige Pokerspieler haben so viel erreicht wie er - vor allem bei der World Series of Poker* und auf der World Poker Tour. Dreizehn Mal saß Barry Greenstein bisher an einem Finaltisch der WSOP* und errang alles in allem über 30 bedeutende Preisgeldplatzierungen. Er gewann u.a. drei Bracelets - beim $5.000 No Limit 2-7 Draw-Event 2004, dem $1.500 Pot Limit Omaha-Event 2005 und beim $1.500 Seven Card Razz-Event 2008.

Aus sechs Finaltischteilnahmen bei der WPT ging Barry zwei Mal als Sieger hervor: 2004 bei der World Poker Open, wo er $1.278.370 gewann, und danach beim Einladungsturnier des L.A. Poker Classic 2006 (Preisgeld: $100.000). Seine WPT-Preisgelder von insgesamt $2.000.000 sind Teil einer Turniergewinnsumme von fast $6.000.000. Zudem ist Barry einer der erfolgreichsten Cashgame-Spieler der Welt. Ob beim High Stakes-Poker oder beim Big Game in Bobby's Room - Barry hat nichts ausgelassen und in der Regel gewonnen.

Spielern, die es schaffen, ihn aus einem der großen Turniere zu werfen, schenkt er meist eine signierte Ausgabe seines Poker-Strategiebuches "Ace on the River". Der bedeutendste Aspekt seiner Karriere aber ist sein Einsatz für wohltätige Zwecke (vor allem für das Kinderhilfswerk Children, Incorporated), die er mit einem großen Teil seiner Turnierpreisgelder unterstützt.

Vielen Pokerspielern wurde der Titel "Legende" verliehen, aber nur wenige haben ihn wirklich verdient - und Barry gehört mit Sicherheit dazu. Im Lauf seiner Karriere hat er viel zum Ansehen des Pokerspiels beigetragen.

Barry Greenstein Bilder

Die größten Erfolge

EventDatumPlatzPreis
WPT World Poker Open Januar 2004 1 $1.278.370
WSOP* 2004 $5.000 No-Limit 2-7 Draw Mai 2004 1 $296.200
WSOP* 2005 $1.500 Pot Limit Omaha Juni 2005 1 $128.505
WPT L.A. Poker Classic - Invitational Februar 2006 1 $100.000
WSOP* 2006 $50.000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship Juli 2006 12 $205.920
WPT Father & Sons Tournament November 2006 1 $25.500
WPT Poker By The Book April 2007 1 $25.500
WSOP* 2007 $50.000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship Juni 2007 7 $259.296
WPT North American Poker Championship Oktober 2007 4 $316.638
WSOP* 2008 $5.000 No Limit 2-7 Draw Lowball Juni 2008 3 $225.552
WSOP* 2008 $1.500 Seven Card Razz Juni 2008 1 $157.619
WSOP* 2008 $50.000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship Juni 2008 6 $355.200

* World Series of Poker und WSOP sind eingetragene Warenzeichen der Caesars License Company, LLC ("Caesars"). Caesars ist weder Förderer noch Sponsor bzw. Teilhaber oder Partner von PokerStars, deren Produkten, Dienstleistungen, Aktionen oder Turnieren.

NEU BEI POKERSTARS?
KOSTENLOSER SOFTWARE-DOWNLOAD

Laden Sie sich die kostenlose PokerStars-Software herunter und beginnen Sie zu spielen.

Play Poker

So laden Sie die Pokersoftware herunter

Barry Greenstein

Barry Greenstein

After graduating from the University of Illinois with a degree in computer science, Barry Greenstein played poker in his spare time while studying for a PhD in mathematics. He could have gone on to have a lucrative career in the software industry, but realized there was a fortune to be made elsewhere.


By 1991, Barry was making so much money from playing poker, he was able to ‘retire’ from his day job and become a fully fledged poker pro. Step forward to today and it’s clearly a decision that’s paid off. There aren’t many players with a list of achievements as long as his, especially at the World Series of Poker* and on the World Poker Tour. In events at the WSOP*, Barry has been at thirteen final tables and made over thirty significant cashes. This includes bracelet wins in 2004’s $5,000 No Limit 2-7 Draw event, the $1,500 Pot Limit Omaha event in 2005, and 2008’s $1,500 Seven Card Razz event.

On the WPT, Barry has made six final table appearances and won two titles. The first came in 2004 at the World Poker Open, where he earned prize money of $1,278,370. His second victory was at an invitational event at the 2006 L.A. Poker Classic, worth another $100,000. His WPT cashes have helped add over $2,000,000 to his total career tournament earnings of almost $6,000,000. Barry is also one of the most successful cash game players in the world. Whether it’s on episodes of High Stakes Poker or in the Big Game at Bobby’s Room, he’s played them all, and usually walks out a winner.

Off the table, Barry has written a strategy book titled ‘Ace on the River’ and can often be found giving away signed copies to those who knock him out of a major tournament. Perhaps the most important aspect of Barry’s career is that he’s donated a large portion of his tournament winnings to charity, most notably Children Incorporated.

Many poker players have the title ‘legend’ given to them, but most don’t deserve it. Barry does. This is a man who’s been there and pretty much done it all in the world of poker.

Barry Greenstein Pictures

Career Highlights

EventDatePositionPrize
2008 WSOP* $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship June 2008 6th $355,200
2008 WSOP* $1,500 Seven Card Razz June 2008 1st $157,619
2008 WSOP* $5,000 No Limit 2-7 Draw Lowball June 2008 3rd $225,552
WPT North American Poker Championship October 2007 4th $316,638
2007 WSOP* $50,000 H.O.R.S.E Championship June 2007 7th $259,296
WPT Poker By The Book April 2007 1st $25,500
WPT Father & Sons Tournament November 2006 1st $25,500
2006 WSOP* $50,000 H.O.R.S.E Championship July 2006 12th $205,920
WPT L.A. Poker Classic - Invitational February 2006 1st $100,000
2005 WSOP* $1,500 Pot Limit Omaha June 2005 1st $128,505
2004 WSOP* $5,000 No-Limit 2-7 Draw May 2004 1st $296,200
WPT World Poker Open January 2004 1st $1,278,370

*World Series of Poker and WSOP are trademarks of Caesars License Company, LLC ("Caesars"). Caesars does not sponsor or endorse, and is not associated or affiliated with PokerStars or its products, services, promotions or tournaments.

Live Poker

Live Poker

Qualify for the biggest live poker events in your region and around the world, with freerolls and satellite qualifiers running now.

Special Offers

Special Offers

PokerStars has special offers running all year round, with cash prizes, seats to the best live events and much more.